

THE STATES assembled on Thursday 20th March 2025, at 9.30 a.m. under the Presidency of the Deputy Bailiff, Robert James MacRae, Esquire.

All members were present at roll call with the exception of -

Connétable Mark Anthony Labey of Grouville – en défaut Deputy Lyndon John Farnham of St. Mary, St. Ouen and St. Peter – en défaut (défaut raised at 10.05 a.m.)

Prayers

Standing Order 55A – remote participation

THE STATES, with reference to their Act dated 14th September 2021, in which they had agreed that, notwithstanding Standing Order 55A(1), Members who did not wish to attend in the States Chamber might continue to take part in States meetings using Microsoft Teams (until the States had considered and voted upon a proposition to re-apply Standing Order 55A(1) or to repeal or vary the terms of the Standing Order), assembled in accordance with Standing Order 55A with Members able to participate remotely using Microsoft Teams. The following Members attended remotely, either for all or part of the meeting –

Connétable Marcus O'Donnel Troy of St. Clement Connétable Richard Anthony Kingston Honeycombe of St. Ouen Deputy Robert James Ward of St. Helier Central

Statements on a matter of official responsibility

(see Official Report/Hansard)

The President of the Section de Jersey of the Assemblée Parlementaire de la Francophonie made a statement regarding the 'Journée de la Francophonie'.

Re-instatement of Senators P.2/2025

THE STATES, resuming consideration of the proposition of Deputy Margaret Elaine Millar of St. John, St. Lawrence and Trinity entitled 'Re-instatement of Senators' (P.2/2025), rejected an amendment of the Privileges and Procedures Committee (P.2/2025 Amd.(3)), that in paragraph (b), for the word "2026" there should be substituted the word "2030".

Members present voted as follows –

Connétable of St. BreladeConnétable of St. HelierConnétable of St. MartinConnétable of St. LawrenceConnétable of St. ClementConnétable of TrinityDeputy G.P. SouthernConnétable of St. PeterDeputy M. TadierConnétable of St. John	Deputy L.K.F. Stephenson

Deputy L.M.C. Doublet Deputy S.M. Ahier Deputy R.J. Ward Deputy C.S. Alves Deputy K.L. Moore Deputy S.Y. Mézec Deputy P.F.C. Ozouf Deputy Sir P.M. Bailhache Deputy T.A. Coles Deputy B.B. de S.V.M. Porée Deputy D.J. Warr Deputy J. Renouf Deputy C.D. Curtis Deputy L.V. Feltham Deputy H.L. Jeune Deputy R.S. Kovacs Deputy A.F. Curtis Deputy K.M. Wilson

Connétable of St. Ouen Connétable of St. Marv Connétable of St. Saviour Deputy C.F. Labey Deputy S.G. Luce Deputy K.F. Morel Deputy M.R. Le Hegarat Deputy I. Gardiner Deputy I.J. Gorst Deputy L.J. Farnham Deputy H.M. Miles Deputy M.R. Scott Deputy R.E. Binet Deputy M.E. Millar Deputy A. Howell Deputy T.J.A. Binet Deputy M.R. Ferey Deputy B. Ward Deputy M.B. Andrews

THE STATES resumed consideration of the proposition of Deputy Margaret Elaine Millar of St. John, St. Lawrence and Trinity, and, adopting the proposition -

- (a) agreed that the office of Senator, elected on an Island-wide basis, should sit alongside the offices of Connétable and Deputy in the States Assembly, and should be re-instated by removing one Deputy from each of the nine electoral constituencies and substituting nine Senators in their place; and
- (b) requested the Privileges and Procedures Committee to bring forward the necessary legislative amendments to give effect to this proposition in time for the General Election in 2026.

Members present voted as follows -

POUR: 25	CONTRE: 20	ABSTAINED: 1
Connétable of St. Helier	Connétable of St. John	Connétable of St. Martir
Connétable of St. Lawrence	Deputy G.P. Southern	
Connétable of St. Brelade	Deputy M. Tadier	
Connétable of Trinity	Deputy L.M.C. Doublet	
Connétable of St. Peter	Deputy S.M. Ahier	
Connétable of St. Clement	Deputy R.J. Ward	
Connétable of St. Ouen	Deputy C.S. Alves	
Connétable of St. Mary	Deputy K.L. Moore	
Connétable of St. Saviour	Deputy S.Y. Mézec	
Deputy C.F. Labey	Deputy P.F.C. Ozouf	
Deputy S.G. Luce	Deputy Sir P.M. Bailhache	
Deputy K.F. Morel	Deputy T.A. Coles	
Deputy M.R. Le Hegarat	Deputy B.B. de S.V.M. Porée	
Deputy I. Gardiner	Deputy D.J. Warr	
Deputy I.J. Gorst	Deputy J. Renouf	
Deputy L.J. Farnham	Deputy C.D. Curtis	
Deputy H.M. Miles	Deputy L.V. Feltham	
Deputy M.R. Scott	Deputy R.S. Kovacs	
Deputy R.E. Binet	Deputy A.F. Curtis	
Deputy M.E. Millar	Deputy K.M. Wilson	
Deputy T.J.A. Binet	-	

Deputy M.R. Ferey Deputy B. Ward Deputy L.K.F. Stephenson Deputy M.B. Andrews

Changes in Presidency

The Deputy Bailiff retired briefly from the Chamber during consideration of the proposition of Deputy Margaret Elaine Millar of St. John, St. Lawrence and Trinity entitled of 'Re-instatement of Senators' (P.2/2025) and the meeting continued under the Presidency of the Deputy Greffier, Mr. William John Charles Millow, who then retired and the meeting continued under the Presidency of the Bailiff until the Deputy Bailiff's return.

Adjournment

THE STATES adjourned, having agreed to reconvene on Friday 21st March 2025, for consideration of the outstanding propositions listed for the meeting.

THE STATES rose at 5.17 p.m.

L.-M. HART

Greffier of the States