STATES OF JERSEY



JERSEY APPOINTMENTS COMMISSION: APPOINTMENT OF COMMISSIONERS

Presented to the States on 15th August 2019 by the Chief Minister

STATES GREFFE

2019 R.110

REPORT

- 1. The Jersey Appointments Commission ("JAC") consists of a Chairman and up to 5 other Commissioners, appointed for a period of up to 9 years. The tenure was increased from 8 years to 9 years under the Employment of States of Jersey Employees (Amendment No. 8) (Jersey) Regulations 2017 ("the amending Regulations") which amended the Employment of States of Jersey Employees (Jersey) Law 2005 ("the 2005 Law"). The amending Regulations were adopted by the States on 28th March 2017, under P.11/2017.
- 2. The terms of reference for the JAC are set out in the 2005 Law. It is the duty of the JAC to oversee the recruitment of certain States employees, appointees and members of independent bodies to ensure that as far as is practicable
 - (a) the recruitment of persons as States employees, appointees or members of independent bodies is fair, efficient and conducted in accordance with best practice principles and procedures;
 - (b) States employees, appointees and members of independent bodies are appointed on merit;
 - (c) Members of the States are only involved in the recruitment of States employees, appointees and members of independent bodies in accordance with guidelines made under Article 24 of the 2005 Law, or in other circumstances where, in the opinion of the Commission, it is appropriate that they be involved.
- 3. JAC workload is high at present, with Commissioners involved in a number of appointments at a senior level, both within the States of Jersey and in independent bodies. The JAC 2018 Annual Report (R.23/2019) set out the range of work undertaken during an exceptionally busy year.
- 4. The JAC appointed Helen Ruelle in April 2019 and re-appointed Louise Read.

Louise Read, however, has tendered her resignation and, with effect from 31 July is no longer a Commissioner, due to work commitments having changed her job recently.

4.1 The current terms of office are as follows –

Name	Role	Commenced	Expiry date
Rt. Hon. Dame Janet Paraskeva, D.B.E.	Chair	24 September 2014	23 September 2021
Professor Edward Sallis, O.B.E.	Commissioner	16 January 2013	31 October 2019
	and Vice-Chair		
Louise Read	Commissioner	1 May 2015	31 July 2019
Jennifer Carnegie	Commissioner	18 January 2018	31 January 2022
Peter Charalambous	Commissioner	18 January 2018	31 January 2022
Helen Ruelle	Commissioner	30 April 2019	29 April 2022

- 5. Appointment of Joanne Waring-Hockley and Simon Nash as Commissioners for a 3-year term
- 5.1 The posts of Commissioner will become vacant upon the expiry of the terms of office of Professor Ed Sallis on 31 October 2019 and Louise Read on 31st July due to her resignation. The roles were advertised in the JEP in July 2019. Six applications were received, and 4 candidates were shortlisted and interviewed by a Panel including Connétable D.W. Mezbourian of St. Lawrence, Dame Janet Paraskeva, D.B.E. and Commissioner Professor Ed Sallis. Following the interviews, the unanimous decision of the Panel was to offer the roles to Joanne Waring-Hockley and Simon Nash.
- Joanne Waring-Hockley has extensive senior HR experience in a variety of industries, including retail, airports, telecommunications, fast-moving consumer goods, finance, utilities and defence. She has held the positions of HR Director at Jersey Telecom and Jersey Electricity, and is now the owner of JW-H Strategic HR & Coaching service. She has also worked with the Royal United Services Institute (a British Defence and Security think-tank) supporting Women in Leadership, and is a Fellow of the Institute of Directors (IoD).
- 5.3 Simon Nash has a breadth of senior HR experience in both banking and law, including the positions of HR Director at Carey Olsen and Crestbridge. He is now the Founder and Chairman of the Insight Group, which is a collection of complementary businesses built around the proposition of "great ideas about people that work". He is a Chartered Fellow of the CIPD and author of 'Effective Selection Interviewing' (2010). He was the winner of an Innovation in Technology HR Law award in 2015, and is also a member of the Jersey Employment and Discrimination Tribunal.
- 5.4 It is proposed that Simon Nash will take up the post of Commissioner as a result of the resignation of Louise Read, for a term of 3 years from 1 October 2019 to 30 September 2022.
- 5.5 Following the retirement of Professor Ed Sallis on 31 October 2019, it is requested that Joanne Waring-Hockley be appointed for 3 years from 1 November 2019 to 31 October 2022.