STATES OF JERSEY



APPOINTMENT OF ASSISTANT MINISTERS: CONSENT OF THE CHIEF MINISTER

Presented to the States on 17th November 2014 by the Chief Minister

STATES GREFFE

REPORT

Under Article 25(1) of the States of Jersey Law 2005 the Chief Minister and Ministers may each appoint one or more elected members as his or her Assistant Ministers.

Under to Article 25(2) a Minster may only appoint an Assistant Minister with the prior consent of the Chief Minister.

Under Article 25A(1) and Standing Order 112A the aggregate of the Chief Minister, Ministers and Assistant Ministers shall not exceed 21 individuals.

The Chief Minister discussed and considered with individual Ministers their preferred choices for States Members to be appointed as Assistant Ministers.

On 12th November 2014, the Chief Minister made a Ministerial Decision consenting to the appointment of the following States Members as Assistant Ministers (MD-C-2014-0183, available at www.gov.je).

Minister	Assistant Minister(s)
Chief Minister Senator I.J. Gorst	Senator P.F. Routier MBE Senator P.F.C. Ozouf
Minister for Economic Development Senator L.J. Farnham	Connétable S.W. Pallett of St. Brelade Deputy M.J. Norton of St. Brelade
Minister for External Relations Senator Sir P.M. Bailhache	_
Minister for Education, Sport and Culture Deputy R.G. Bryans of St. Helier	Senator Sir P.M. Bailhache
Minister for Health and Social Services Senator A.K.F. Green, MBE	Connétable J.M. Refault of St. Peter Deputy P.D. McLinton of St. Saviour
Minister for Home Affairs Deputy K.L. Moore of St. Peter	Connétable D.W. Mezbourian of St. Lawrence
Minister for Housing Deputy A.E Pryke of Trinity	-
Minister for Planning and Environment Deputy S.G. Luce of St. Martin	Connétable S.W. Pallett of St. Brelade
Minister for Social Security Deputy S.J. Pinel of St. Clement	Deputy G.J. Truscott of St. Brelade
Minister for Transport and Technical Services Deputy E.J. Noel of St. Lawrence	Deputy R.J. Rondel of St. Helier
Minister for Treasury and Resources Senator A.J.H. Maclean	Deputy T.A. Vallois of St. John

When giving notice of nominations for ministerial offices in accordance with Standing Order 117(2), the Chief Minister indicated his intention to lodge draft Regulations pursuant to Article 29(2) of the States of Jersey Law 2005, which would propose the transfer of certain functions between some existing ministerial portfolios and the creation of a new ministerial office as described in the explanatory note which accompanied the nominations (attached at Appendix).

In the interim, in order to facilitate the functioning of the existing ministerial offices, the following will also act as Assistant Ministers in the following capacities until such time as the Regulations pursuant to Article 29(2) of the States of Jersey Law 2005 have been considered and approved by the States Assembly –

Minister	Assistant Minister(s)
Minister for Economic Development Senator L.J. Farnham	Deputy S.G. Luce of St. Martin (pending transfer of Fisheries)
	Senator P.F.C. Ozouf (pending transfer of Digital, Competition, Innovation) Deputy R.G. Bryans of St. Helier
	(pending transfer of Skills)
Minister for Education, Sport and Culture	Connétable S.W. Pallett of St. Brelade (pending transfer of Sport)
Deputy R.G. Bryans of St. Helier	Senator L.J. Farnham (pending transfer of Sport and Culture)
Minister for Planning and Environment Deputy S.G. Luce of St. Martin	Senator L.J. Farnham (pending transfer of Agriculture)
Minister for Treasury and Resources Senator A.J.H. Maclean	Deputy E.J. Noel of St. Lawrence (pending transfer of Jersey Property Holdings)

The Chief Minister will in due course present a report to the States Assembly setting out the responsibilities of Ministers and their Assistant Ministers, in order to comply with Article 30A of the States of Jersey Law 2005.

APPENDIX

Explanatory Note

The Chief Minister designate intends to lodge draft Regulations pursuant to Article 29(2) of the States of Jersey Law 2005, which would propose the transfer of certain functions between some existing ministerial portfolios and the creation of a new ministerial office, as explained below. Instructions for the necessary draft Regulations would be decided upon following the formation of the new Council of Ministers, taking into account the views which States Members may express during the election of Ministers, and the States Assembly would be asked to decide upon these changes in due course.

Initially, responsibility for financial services, the digital sector, competition and innovation will be combined under the remit of the Chief Minister. Senator Philip Ozouf will be appointed as an Assistant Chief Minister with delegated responsibility for this portfolio. Subsequently, the creation of a new ministerial office will be proposed to take responsibility for this portfolio. If the creation of this new ministerial office is agreed by the States Assembly, then the Chief Minister designate would intend to nominate Senator Philip Ozouf for this new ministerial position.

Education, Sport and Culture will become Education and Skills, in order to bring together responsibility for improvements in educational and vocational standards, and to equip our local workforce with the skills they need.

Economic Development will bring together responsibility for tourism, retail, sport and culture, gambling and the lottery, air and sea links, farming, business development and inward investment, in order to attract new visitors and businesses, and to encourage more participation in our community.

Planning and Environment will take the lead on the marine environment and seas fisheries. Responsibility for Jersey Property Holdings will be transferred from Treasury and Resources to Transport and Technical Services.