Privileges and Procedures Committee

(33rd Meeting)
(Business conducted electronically)

1st May 2025

Part A (Non-Exempt)

All members were present, with the exception of Deputy L.K.F. Stephenson of St. Mary, St. Ouen and St. Peter.

Connétable K. Shenton-Stone of St. Martin, Chair Deputy C. S. Alves of St. Helier Central, Vice Chair Connétable M.K. Jackson of St. Brelade Deputy T.A. Coles of St. Helier South Deputy S.M. Ahier of St. Helier North Deputy L.M.C. Doublet of St. Saviour

In attendance -

C. Fearn, Secretariat Officer, Specialist Secretariat

Note: The Minutes of this meeting comprise Part A only.

Jersey
Electoral
Authority:
appointment of
Chair and
members.

A1. The Committee, with reference to its Minute No. A8 of 20th May 2024, received a draft report which had been prepared by the Greffier of the States in connexion with the appointment of members of the Jersey Electoral Authority (JEA), in accordance with Article 13A of the Elections (Jersey) Law 2002.

The Committee was advised that, following a recruitment process overseen by the Jersey Appointments Commission, the Recruitment Panel had recommended the appointment of Messrs. M. Marett-Crosby (Chair), T. Lyons, J. Martinson and Advocate M. Swann. The reappointment of Ms. E. Sharples was also recommended and brief candidate biographies were noted.

The Committee endorsed the recommendation of the Recruitment Panel and requested that the report be presented to the States.