STATES OF JERSEY

1

RENT CONTROL TRIBUNAL: APPOINTMENT OF MEMBERS

Lodged au Greffe on 22nd March 2005 by the Housing Committee

STATES GREFFE

PROPOSITION

THE STATES are asked to decide whether they are of opinion -

in pursuance of paragraph (1) of Article 3 of the Dwelling Houses (Rent Control) (Jersey) Law 1949, a amended, to appoint the following persons to act as Chairman and Members of the Rent Control Tribunal for a further period ending on 12th April 2006, namely –

Mr. Terence Lavery – Chairman Mrs. Mary Gaiger Mr. Ronald Peter Welling Mr. Christopher John Sheehan

HOUSING COMMITTEE

REPORT

Article 3 of the Dwelling Houses (Rent Control) (Jersey) Law 1949, as amended, provides for the States to appoint a Rent Control Tribunal consisting of a Chairman and not less than 3, nor more than 4 other Members. The Law also provides that the Chairman and 2 other Members constitute a quorum for any sitting of the Tribunal.

Regulation 2 of the Dwelling Houses (Rent Control) (Jersey) Regulations 1946 states that the Chairman and Members of the Tribunal shall hold office for a period of 12 months ending on 12th April each year, and are eligible for re-appointment.

The Chairman and Members who are serving on the Tribunal for the period ending on 12th April 2005 have agreed to allow their names to be put forward for nomination for a further term. The Appointments Commission has also confirmed that it would be appropriate to re-appoint the existing Chairman and Members of the Tribunal on the basis of their past performance.

The Committee accordingly has pleasure in nominating the current Chairman and the persons named below to serve for a further 12-month term, ending on 12th April 2006.

Mr. Terence Lavery – Chairman Mrs. Mary Gaiger Mr. Ronald Peter Welling Mr. Christopher John Sheehan

There are no additional financial or manpower implications for the States arising from this proposition.